Project

General

Profile

Feature #11388

Updated by evserykh (Evgeniy Serykh) about 5 years ago

Considering https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc1891 and http://www.sendmail.org/~ca/email/dsn.html 

 TD;DR  
 SMTP session via Telnet: 
 `R: 220 Pure-Heart.ORG SMTP server here 
 S: EHLO Pure-Heart.ORG 
 R: 250-Pure-Heart.ORG 
 R: 250-DSN 
 R: 250 SIZE 
 S: MAIL FROM:<Alice@Pure-Heart.ORG> RET=HDRS ENVID=QQ314159 
 R: 250 <Alice@Pure-Heart.ORG> sender ok 
 S: RCPT TO:<Bob@Big-Bucks.COM> NOTIFY=SUCCESS,DELAY ORCPT=rfc822;Bob@Big-Bucks.COM 
 R: 250 <Bob@Big-Bucks.COM> recipient ok 
 S: RCPT TO:<Carol@Ivory.EDU> NOTIFY=FAILURE ORCPT=rfc822;Carol@Ivory.EDU 
 R: 250 <Carol@Ivory.EDU> recipient ok 
 S: RCPT TO:<Dana@Ivory.EDU> NOTIFY=SUCCESS,FAILURE ORCPT=rfc822;Dana@Ivory.EDU 
 R: 250 <Eric@Bombs.AF.MIL> recipient ok 
 S: RCPT TO:<Fred@Bombs.AF.MIL> NOTIFY=NEVER 
 R: 250 <Fred@Bombs.AF.MIL> recipient ok` 

 Now **Net::SMTP#rcptto** looks like this: 
 ` 
   def rcptto(to_addr) 
     if $SAFE > 0 
       raise SecurityError, 'tainted to_addr' if to_addr.tainted? 
     end 
     getok("RCPT TO:<#{to_addr}>") 
   end 
 ` 

 It's impossible to use SMTP Service Extension for Delivery Status Notifications in current implementation? 

 **UPDATED**: Maybe it's Postfix's job (http://marc.info/?l=postfix-users&m=139333445015239&w=2 and http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.html). This issue can be closed I guess

Back